Български

Lukovit

the new tourist destination!

Many of our guests have shared that they have wondered “Why in Lukovit, what’s in there?”, and after their first visit, they return again and again, convinced that it really is an “undiscovered treasure”.

More...

Amusements

  • Offroad trip
  • Extreem offroad
  • Bungee jumping from Prohodna Cave
  • Picnic
  • Barbecue or grever in nature
  • Romantic evening and in the open in a unique arbor with a picturesque view
  • Cliff climbing
  • Rappelling
  • Paintball
  • Amusing outdoor games
  • Hunting and fishing

These were the most pleasant 3 days that we spent with our friends. We are surprised to find that here one can enjoy luxury, high-quality spa center and amazing nature with unique landmarks.

We have visited most of the sights in Bulgaria and have to admit that Lukovit is a place where astounding landmarks are gathered. The eco-trail is magnificent with the river running nearby, and with the various places for rest along its course, and the view under the “Eyes of God” could be described only with the words “breath taking”. We had the chance to see the rock phenomenon Provartenika – it’s really magical.

This is one of the few hotels where we shall most certainly return again and again to enjoy the comfort and the nature.”

Petkov Family and Alexandrov Family
Sofia

Prohodna Cave – „The Eyes of God”

Prohodna Cave – „The Eyes of God”

Prohodna Cave or the so called the “Eyes of God” natural phenomenon is one of the emblematic caves in Bulgaria. Here as a result of erosion and the effect of water soaking through the cave ceiling, the phenomenon “Oknata” has formed, also known as the “Eyes of God”.  These two amazing rock formations, that represent two eye-like holes of almost identical size, are used as a symbol of the manifestation of the Lord in the Bulgarian feature film “Vreme Razdelno”,  shot by Anton Donchev’s novel of the same name. Prohodna Cave is used as scenery of the majority of the scenes. It has been the set of several other Bulgarian and foreign movies.

 

Prohodna Cave has formed in Karlukovo Karst Region comprised of the rocks near Karlukovo village, part of Lukovit Municipality. Prohodna Cave is unique not only for its astonishing natural phenomenon “Oknata”, but also for its 262 meters length, which makes it the longest cave passage in Bulgaria. 

 

In 1962 Prohodna Cave is included in the List of the natural landmarks of Bulgaria. Prohodna Cave is easily accessible, regardless of the fact that in the surrounding villages and along the roads there are no boards, signs or marking to give the direction for the tourists wondering about it. The cave lies 2 kilometers from Karlukovo, near the Karlukovo–Lukovit road. By asking for the way, the cave is also accessible from Rumyantsevo village, located on the main road Sofia - Varna.

 

Karlukovo gorge is one of the largest karst regions on the territory of Bulgaria. Still there is no definite information about the exact number of the existing caves that has formed in the region, although most of the precipices, rock bridges, and all of the more significant holes are explored and marked. 
Many of the extreme sports lovers hold the opinion that if a person has decided to try the adrenaline-rising sports, like bungee jumping for example, he/she has to do it first from Prohodna Cave. The very entrance of Prohodna Cave is imposing. It has a unique auger-like form, which again results from the erosion action of water. The entrance height is more than 40 meters. 
The amazing and interesting gallery distribution of Prohodna Cave makes it the only place in the world where bungee jumps could be practiced from a cave ceiling. After entering the Cave and passing through it you can go on from its other side where a route starts leading above the cave wherefrom the “Oknata” phenomenon could be seen from a closer distance. The region of Prohodna Cave provides excellent natural conditions also for sports climbing, speleology and even for fishing.

Водно колело

Водни колелета по поречието на река Златна Панега

По поречието на река Златна Панега се намира красива и уникална екопътека. Маршрутът е изпъстрен със скални арки и живописни геоложки образования от около 100 милиона години. Построени са  мостчета, беседки и пейки.

Най-голямата атракция в екопътеката  е разходката с каяк или водно колело по  река Златна Панега. Цветът на водата е синьо-зелен и реката е осеяна с множество красиви меандри. Краят на маршрута стига до язовир с приказна къщичка на вода.

На разположение на туристите са 6 водни колелета, 5 двойни и 5 единични каяка, всеки ден от 10 часа до 19 часа.

Скален манастир

Манастирът Свети Никола (Глигoрa) е разположен  в естествена скална ниша в местността Долни Глигóр.  До църквата са долепени от юг жилищно помещение а от север – стопанска сграда. Всички сгради са двуетажни, защото са изградени на естествен каменен праг в нишата.  Пространството, което се образува пред олтара в черквата (ниша дълбока 2 м) е използвано като крипта, където монасите са съхранявали костите на своите починали събратя.

На южната външна стена на църквата има оформени три абсидни ниши. Това място е било използвано като външен параклис към манастира.

Църквата е била изписана в два живописни слоя. Първият е точно датиран на 1360 г. Вторият слой е от края на 17 век. Предполага се, че при едно от татарските нападения манастирът е бил опожарен, след което конструкцията му е укрепена и е изписан наново.

Според легенда малката пещера зад църквата е била обитавана от монах-отшелник. Той се прославил с богоугодните си дела и местното население издигнало храм на това място. На около 150 м на юг от манастира на една от стените на скалния венец през 50 те години на 20 век е открит интересен надпис-графит.

Rock Formation „Provartenika”

Rock Formation „Provartenika”

The unique natural phenomenon “Provartenika” or “The Clock” is a majestic rock in the form of imposing rock tower. It is supposed that it was part of an ancient religious complex or an ancient observatory, because in the days of the summer and winter solstice a fixed sunbeam passes through it.

Rock Formation „Strupanitsa”

Rock Formation „Strupanitsa”

 

“Strupanitsa” is a large-scale landslide (rockfall type) with area of 13.2 hectares, located on the right bank of Iskar River about one kilometer from the railway station of Karlukovo village. Here the river bed is deeply cut into the thick limestone that forms rock garlands with steep vertical walls of over 60 meters height. The limestone is yellowish to white in color, full of black or dark brown flint kernels. The strata are almost horizontal crossed by cracks in various directions that impart them an even more incredible look. These rocks completely deserve the name “Strupanitsa” (heaping) because this actually is a large fall of rock blocks, most of which are in the form of cubes or parallelepipeds. They are of various sizes, some of them exceeding 15 cubic meters. They are formed most probably under the erosion action of Iskar River on the rocks. Here the river makes a huge turn and now runs at a distance from the rocks. Rock Formation “Strupanitsa” is in itself a stunning and astonishing sight.

 

The unique natural phenomenon “Provartenika” or “The Clock” is a majestic rock in the form of imposing rock tower. It is supposed that it was part of an ancient religious complex or an ancient observatory, because in the days of the summer and winter solstice a fixed sunbeam passes through it.

„Zlatna Panega” River

„Zlatna Panega” River

 

The town is situated on both banks of Zlatna Panega River. The legends for the mystical origins of the river and the stories about its healing properties have been known also from the ancient Thracians, Hellenes and Romans that used to live not only in these lands. That is why the ailing people flocking from all directions of the ancient empires have built, more than two millennia ago, on the spring shore a temple in honor of Asclepius - the God of medicine and healing, and the river was named after the his beautiful daughter – Panacea (also pronounces “Panaka” - the goddess of universal remedy).

Скален манастир

Скалната църква "Св. Марина", построена през 14 век и изографисана от местни зографи е уникален паметник от късното българско средновековие. През XIII и XIV в земите на Византия и България възниква ново течение в християнството - учението за Божествената енергия- исихазъм. Обитавана от монаси-исихасти, църквата е ням свидетел не неколкократното опожаряване на Карлуковския манастир, намиращ се на отсрещния бряг на река Искър. Оцеляла през годините на турското робство и съхранила вярата на местното население, в началото на 19 век църквата остава без монаси и постепенно запада. Построена върху непристъпна скална площадка в ниша на около 20 м от нивото на реката, тя е била е изградена от местен ломен камък, свързан с хоросан. Имала е дървена конструкция и двускатен покрив с керамични керемиди. Според учените, стенописите са работени от двама майстори. По-опитният от тях е бил възпитан в традициите на палеоговската живопис и напомня майстора на Ивановската църква. Другият е с по-сух и графичен стил, напомня романски стенописи, или техни по-стари образци от Кападокия.

„Uspenie Bogorodichno” Church of 1602

„Uspenie Bogorodichno” Church of 1602

The Monastery of Karlukovo is located in the gorge of Iskar River, close to Karlukovo village. In ХV century it has been plundered and demolished. In the end of ХVІ century and in the beginning of ХVІІ century its function revives only to be demolished again, after which it is desolated. In 1834 the church is rebuilt with the funds of Stefan Chalakov from Plovdiv city. Today only the old church “Uspenie Bogorodichno” /meaning the Assumption of the Virgin Mary/ is preserved and announced as a national monument of culture.

 

In 1799 trying to escape from Kardzhalians and the watchmen haiduks , Bishop Sofronii Vrachanski /the Bishop of Vratsa/ has found asylum in Karlukovo Monastery – keeper of the Bulgarian spirit.

 

Two rock-hewn churches are located just opposite the Monastery of Karlukovo. The wall-paintings in “St. Marina” church are partially preserved. They date back to ХІV century and have been made by a first-rate master. At some 5-6 km to the North-West of Karlukovo is located St. Gregory Church, where two layers of wall-paintings of ХІV and of ХVІІ century could be seen.

Пещера

The “Temnata dupka”Cave  is one of the longest caves in the Balkan region. 

Its length is 5 600 m, ranking  it 4th among the longest caves in Bulgaria. Its entrance is located on the “Lakatnishki” cliffs,  27 meters above the Iskar River.

The cave system is three-storey and consists of two branched galleries connected to each other.

In the cave there are many lakes as the “Pepi” lakes which are up to 3 meters deep and the “ Long Lake” which  is 80 m long. Near the “Jerkovo” Lake appears an underground river that runs down on the bottom floor of the cave system.

In the cave you can found almost 20% of all Troglobionites  existing in Bulgaria. Of these, the most prominent is Protelsonia lakatnikensis.

In 1962 the cave was declared a natural landmark.

The Lukovit Treasure – the silver Thracian treasure

The Lukovit Treasure – the silver Thracian treasure

The treasure dates back to the second half of ІV century BC (copy of the treasure could be seen in the Museum of Lovech). It is found by chance in 1953 near the town of Lukovit and consists of two groups of objects: works of plastic art, applications horse-trappings, and household vessels (9 vessels of which 5 phials, 3 ewers and a bowl). 

Glojene Monastery „St. George”

Glojene Monastery „St. George”

Glojene Monastery is one of the most exceptional monasteries in Stara Planina Mountain, located 30 km from the town of Lukovit in the Teteven part of the Bakan Range. It is unique for its prominent location. It is not hidden in the recesses of the mountain range, but rises on a high rock terrace, separated from the surrounding land by steep and vertical cliffs. It is located on the Eastern side of Lisets mountain hill, below the peak “Kamen Lisets”, 1073 m. According to unproven data it was built in the beginning of XIII century, in 1224, and reconstructed in XV—XVI century. The legend says that Georgi Gloj – the prince of Kiev was the founder of the monastery and the person that has given the name of the village – Glojene. The legend is based on the coincidence of the names of the settlement Kayovo, which existed in the region in XV-XVI century but no longer existing later on, and the town Kiev in Ukraine where the monks used to go to pray for donations. 

 

Copy of the ancient icon “St. George the Victorious”, which is supposed to have been brought by Gloj when he settled in the area, could be seen in the monastery. Glojene Monastery is a functioning cultural monument and is part of the Lovech Eparchy. This Bulgarian monastery has the vastest and the most splendid panoramic view that opens from the very monastery.

 

The monastery consists of a church and of residential buildings. The form of the apse is very intriguing with the unusual oblong and deep niche in it. It is difficult to determine its purpose. Most probably it was used as a deacon’s niche (these were used till XVI century). Thus shaped, as a low and deep hole, it could accommodate the church chattels that usually are stored in the proper deacon’s niches.

 

Vasil Levski, who has found a revolutionary committee in the village of Glojene was a frequent visitor of the monastery. There, the well-known spiritual, political and cultural figure has been kept under extremely rigorous conditions during nine months in 1893-1894. Presently his cell is transformed into a museum. Levski’s hiding-place is also preserved.

 

Located on the Eastern side of Lisets mountain hill of the West Fore-Balkan, the monastery is accessible also by car through a steep forest road. Currently, the monastery is fully-functioning men’s monastery, announced for cultural monument. 

The first in Bulgaria Geo-park - „Iskar - Panega”

Geo-park - „Iskar - Panega”

The first in Bulgaria Geo-park - „Iskar - Panega”

The first and only geo-park in Bulgaria is located in Karlukovo karst region. It is situated in close proximity to the hotel and has been established under the EU PHARE Program “Development of the Bulgarian Ecotourism”. It includes two micro regions – Karlukovo Karst Complex and Roadside Landscape Park Panega. Representatives of BAS /Bulgarian Academy of Sciences/ and BARET /Bulgarian Association for Rural and Ecological Tourism/ has concluded, as a result of their research , that the geo-park is a geological, geomorphological and paleontological site of aesthetic, cultural and historical value. It encompasses the existing natural and historical landmarks. The geo-park provides excellent conditions for organizing perfect team-building events in nature, including bungee jumping from the North entrance of Prohodna Cave and alpine descending from the “eyes” of the cave, canoeing and rafting on Zlatna Panega River, mountain biking, paintball, off-road and rock climbing. While taking a walk in the astonishing geo-park you will have the chance to see:

 

The unique rock formations “Kuklite”

The “Kotlen” Cirque

The Cave “Temna Dupka” - in which have been discovered signs of life of primitive people.

www.geopark-bg.com

Saeva Dupka Cave

Saeva Dupka Cave

Saeva Dupka Cave (the Saevs’ hole) is one of the most beautiful caves in Bulgaria. It is located 10 km from Lukovit in “Lednishki Rid” area and is part of the 100 national tourist sites. The diameter of the largest stalactite in it is 60 meters.

 

The cave consists of five chambers and several galleries, named: Kupena /the Haystack/, Srutishteto / the Collapse/, the Concert Hall, Cosmos and the White Castle. Saeva Dupka Cave was named after two brothers   Seyu and Sae who discovered it accidentally.

 

Prof. Georgi Zlatarski explores the cave for a first time in 1883, and the brothers Karel and Herman Schkorpil follow his steps ten years later.

 

In 1962 the cave is announced for natural landmark, and in 1967 is equipped with facilities for visitors.

 

The cave is unique for its colors — green, brown and white. At the reconstruction of the facilities in the cave artifacts are found – animal bones, clay vessels, coins, dating back to the time of reign of the Roman Emperor Antonius.

 

Bats are the native inhabitants of this masterpiece of Nature. They spent about 7 months in the cave settling there in September and leaving it in spring.

 

The archeological explorations show that the cave has been inhabited by primeval people. Pottery, animal bones, a fireplace and coins, dating back to the time of reign of the Roman Emperor Antonius, were discovered at the very beginning of the cave exploration. 

 

It was closed in 1990, plundered in 1996 and reopened and lighted in 2004.

Офоруд разходки

Офроуд разходките ни са в няколко вариации.

Посещение на пещера Проходна и обзорна разходка до Струпаница, Порвъртеника и каменни къщи.

Обзорна разходка до Струпаница, Провъртеника и каменни къщи и посещение на древен скален манастир Свети Никола – което включва пешеходен преход от 3км.

Офроуд разходка през пресечена местност – изготвя се по индивидуален маршрут в зависимост от изискванията за „ екстремност “ и продължителност.

*Изготвяне на индивидуални маршрути

*Налични 3 офроуд превозни средства

*Максимален капацитет 32 човека

Язовир

Местните хора от село Карлуково и град Луковит не са изненадани, че и зад това интересно събитие в региона стои Андриан Йорданов, който всички наричат Ачо – пещерняк, бизнесмен и родолюбец. Отрасъл в този край, той от няколко години се е заел с неговото възраждане като духовен център, какъвто е убеден, че е бил в миналото ни. Тук създава своите невероятни каменни къщи, пред които се дивят посетители отблизо и далеч. Една от тях пък сякаш е излязла от приказка и плува в река Златна Панега, в която прекрасни бели и розови водни лилии, донесени от река Ропотамо, греят с красотата си. Интересни керамични цветя, като живи същества, посрещат посетителите на района.

В местността „Синдиката“, до река Златна Панега, строите сграда. Каква функция ще има тя?

Това е едно емблематично място за Луковит – местността „Синдиката“. Там съм се учил да плувам по цяло лято, там сме отрасли с мои приятели и всеки има някакъв сантимент към мястото. През годините то си стоеше в забрава и разруха и беше се превърнало в сметище, а като даденост този район е невероятен. Река Златна Панега не случайно се нарича така. Тя извира съвсем близо до това място и водата й е кристално чиста – една от най-чистите реки в България е, от която в даден момент можеш дори да пиеш. Искам да направя мястото прекрасно, за да се чувстват хората добре и тук, да усетят природата, всичко да е одухотворено. Предвиждам да има парк, който да свържем с екопътеката. И туристите, които се движат по нея, да приключат разходката си при „Синдиката“. Там ще могат да пият по една вода, да получат информация за района. Сградата, която строя, ще е на три етажа. На първия, който е близо до водата, ще има Център за обучения на пещерняци, водолази и др., нагоре ще има стаи за нощувки. Каменната къща в съседство може да се ползва от обучаващите. Не ми се иска да има ресторант в общоприетия смисъл. Стремя се всичко да излъчва някакво спокойствие, някакъв мир и хармония.

„The Blue Ostriches” Farm

„The Blue Ostriches” Farm

“The Blue Ostriches” Farm is located 10 km from the town of Lukovit in the village of Brestnitsa, Yablanitsa Municipality.

 

The farm is established in 2001 and is located in close proximity to Saeva Dupka Cave, which  is one of the most visited tourist sites in the country. 

 

The main activity of the farm is the growing of rare and special species such as ostriches, deer, decorative rabbits, etc. The visitors of the farm shall have the opportunity to be acquainted with the life of these species and mainly with the ostriches - the way of their indoor growing and the products obtained from them: feathers, eggs, hides, meat, etc. There is also a small Ostrich Museum, where the visitors can find a wide variety of interesting ideas for the application of various products, offered in the form of souvenirs.

 

The farm is open for visitors every day, including the holidays. There you will spend amusing time with the interesting stories of Mr. Stefan Danailov – the owner of the farm, while getting acquainted with the life of interesting species.

Тиймбилдинг

ТИЙМБИЛДИНГ  „ ТЪРСАЧИ НА СЪКРОВИЩA

Тиймбилдигът се провежда на живописна поляна в региона на пещера Проходна, участниците изпълняват логически и състезателни отборни игри, на база на които  получават жокери, за да намерят съкровище в пещери „Проходна” и „Свирчовица”.  

 Цел на тиймбилдинга:

 


Lukovit – the new tourist destination

These are some of the reasons why you should choose the town of Lukovit and Diplomat Plaza Hotel & Resort:

Few people know that some of the most emblematic historical Bulgarian firms have been shot here:

Magical experience for body and soul – the mission - possible in Lukovit

The eyes, to which the character from the film “Vreme Razdelno” – priest Aligarko prays like to a real God. The Eyes you have to see with your own eyes...

“Ochite na Gospod” (the Eyes of God), in Prohodna Cave, is one of the numerous phenomena in Lukovit region – the wonderful canyon of Zlatna Panega River, the Circus “Kotlen”, the Unique rock formations “Kuklite” (the Dolls) in the karst plateau of Karlukovo, the rock phenomenon “Provartenik” (the Pierced Rock), the rock-fall “Dayma” and the Lagoon with the circular marsh.

The only one in Bulgaria Geo-park “Iskar – Panega” encompasses the natural and historical landmarks in Lukovit region. The Geo-park is a perfect place for rest and recreation in nature. For the extreme sport lovers, there are excellent conditions for bungee jumping from the Northern entrance of Prohodna Cave, alpine skiing from the "eyes" of the cave, canoeing and rafting on Zlatna Panega River, mountain biking, paintball, off-road and cliff climbing.

The connoisseurs of the monuments of culture and history may visit the Church “Uspenie Bogorodichno” (1602), the only preserved till nowadays part of Karlukovo Monastery that dates back earlier than XV century. In 1799, being persecuted by the Kardzhalians and the watchmen haiduks, Bishop Sofronii Vrachanski /the Bishop of Vratsa/ has found asylum in Karlukovo Monastery – keeper of the Bulgarian spirit.

Very close to Karlukovo Monastery there are two rock-hewn churches – “St. Marina” Church and “St. Gregory” Church. The wall-paintings in “St. Marina” Church are partially preserved. They date back to ХІV century. About 5-6 km to the North-West of Karlukovo village is situated the rock-hewn church “St. Gregory”, where two layers of wall-paintings from ХІV and from ХVІІ century could be seen.

The cleanness and the authentic beauty of nature in the region of Lukovit are well preserved. The town is situated on the two banks of Zlatna Panega River, which takes its source from the karst spring “Glava Panega”, which actually is the largest karst spring in Bulgaria.

From ancient times the people believed that the waters of Zlatna Panega River are healing and many legends are told about its healing properties. The ancient stories relate that people from all four directions of the Earth have come to dip into the healing spring and to get a relief for their maladies. Out of gratitude they have built on the spring shore a temple in honor of Asclepius - the God of medicine and healing, and the river was named after his beautiful daughter – Panacea (also pronounced “Panaka” - the goddess of universal remedy). In the course of time the name of the river has changed to “Panega”.

It was in Lukovit where in 1953 is discovered the Thracian silver treasure, which dates back to the second half of IV century. It consists of works of plastic art, applications for horse-trappings and household vessels. Very often the works of plastic art and the applications depict animals: lion, gryphon, dog, stag, etc.

The power of the magical energy of Lukovit flows into every one, who had absorbed in that rich pallet of historical, cultural, and natural treasures of the country. You shall be spellbound and shall want to return again and again in Lukovit.